Tranmere Bowling Club

WHAT’S ON – 2017/2018 SEASON

Sat, 2nd – New Season Opening Day
Wed, 6th – Trial Matches Commence
Sat, 16th – Payneham Challenge
Sat, 23rd – Kensi/Marryatville Challenge
Mon, 25th – Women’s Skins Tournament

Mon, 2nd – Cosmo Triples Tournament
Wed, 4th – Men’s Pennants Round 1
Thurs, 5th – Women’s Pennants Round 1
Sat, 7th – Open Pennants Round 1
Mon, 23rd – Men’s Medley Tournament

Tues, 7th – Melb. Cup Day Lunch & Bowls
Tues, 14th – Night Owls Commence
Mon, 27th – Cosmo Triples Tournament

Thurs, 14th – Women’s Drawn Pairs
Fri, 15th – Christmas Dinner & Show
Sat, 16th – Men’s Drawn Pairs
Sun, 17th – Club Champ. Singles, Stage 1
Tues, 19th – Night Owls Christmas Break-up
Mon, 25th – Christmas Day

Tues, 9th – Night Owls Resumes
Wed, 10th – Men’s Pennants Resume
Thurs, 11th  Women’s Pennants Resume
Sat, 13th – Open Pennants Resume
Mon, 15th – Seniors Supa Over 60s Day
Fri, 25th – Australia Day Cosmo Triples

Wed, 7th – Men’s Australia v ROTW Challenge
Fri, 23rd – Super Quiz Night
Sun, 25th – Club Championships, Day 2

Wed, 7th – Men’s Pennant Semi-Finals
Wed, 7th – Wed. Winter Bowls Commence
Sat, 10th – Sat. Winter Bowls Commence
Mon, 12th – Adel. Cup Day Cosmo Triples
Wed, 14th – Wed. Pennant Prelim. Finals
Thurs, 15th – Women’s Pennant Semi-Finals
Sat, 17th – Open Pennant Semi-Finals
Sun. 18th – Open Pennant Prelim. Finals
Wed, 21st – Men’s Pennant Grand Final

MARCH Continued
Thurs, 22nd – Women’s Penn. Prelim. Finals
Fri, 23rd – Presentation Night Dinner
Sat, 24th – Open Pennants Grand Final
Tues, 27th – Night Owls Finals
Thurs, 29th – Women’s Pennants Grand Final

Mon, 9th – Paradise Motors Mixed 6’s Day
Wed, 25th – Anzac Day Winter Bowls
Sun, 29th – Bowls Section AGM, 11 am


Tranmere hosted the 4th Annual State Bowling Arm Singles Championship from 9th April – 11th April 2017. We had 34 entries coming from all corners of the State such as Robe, Wallaroo, Port MacDonnell, Mount Gambier, Victor Harbor, Ardrossan, Renmark and even Tranmere.

 Weather conditions were a bit cool to start with but were excellent for the semi-finals and grand final matches. With running speeds of between 16-17 seconds it was just right for some fine touch bowling – the challenge was on.

 The standard of play across all days was excellent and a real treat to watch, with so many good bowls delivered so smoothly onto the greens. On days 1 and 2 the target was 21 up to win a match and, boy, were there many really close matches. On day 1 three matches were decided at 21-20, two at 21-19 and one at 21-18. With our green speeds up, they played a lot of ends. It was a long day. Tranmere players, Rodney Egge and Bob Payne were knocked out on day 1 with Rodney losing a nail-biter at 20-21 – ouch!

 Day 2 saw the twelve winners from day 1’s sectional play, go head to head, to decide the semi-final spots. This included the champion for the past two years, Bill Richards from Port MacDonnell. What a match he had defending his title. He was against Des Manuel from Victor Harbor, who also had one of those 21-20 wins in his section the day before. Twice Bill had the match in the grasp of his hand only to see Des deny him the win. The second time, Des delivered a perfect drew on his final bowl, prevailing with a 21-20 win to deny the current champion a spot in the semi-finals. Phil Sanders from Salisbury, who only started using a bowling arm last November, crunched both his opponents 21-6 to rush into a semi-final spot. Tranmere’s Alan Hill also made it to the semi-finals, again with one of those 21-20 wins over Julian Ward from Clarence Gardens. At 18-10, Alan was running away with the match but Julian took him to 20-20 to make Alan work hard for his win. Colin Baker from Nuriootpa, won into the semi-finals when his opponent David Oliphant from Goolwa had to retire. David in his first try at the championship had already won his first three matches, much against his expectations, and was exhausted. But not to deny Colin who had won his first three matches as well as being well in front over David at the time.

 On day 3 the target to win the semi-finals and grand final was set at first to 25 shots, with our greens still running nicely at 16-17 speeds. Phil Sanders was matched up against Colin Baker and Des Manuel against Alan Hill. A slow start from Phil Sanders saw him trailing 0-8 down early, but he then managed to find his way back into the match. After a really good tussle Phil gained the upper hand to win 26-22 into the grand final. The second semi-final was tightly contested early with both players delivering some outstanding draw bowling. With the match evenly poised at 12-12, Des Manuel enjoyed a mini spurt and opened up a small break to lead 19-12. From then on, it was end for end with Des running out a deserving winner to reach the grand final.

 So, two new faces into the grand final: Des Manuel v Phil Sanders. Des Manuel started brilliantly. His backhand was exceptional and with superior accuracy he was in control, opening up a 7-0 lead after four ends. This was familiar territory for Phil Sanders who had a similar slow start in his semi-final win. Phil dug deep and after finally getting on to the score board, worked his way back into the match. After nine ends, Des still enjoyed a seven shot lead at 11-4, but Phil was finding his range again and, when he grabbed 7 shots over the next three 3 ends, the match was evenly poised at 11-11. Des came back to lead 15-13 by the sixteenth end, but this was to be Phil’s day. He won nine of the last twelve with a couple of 3s on the 22nd and 24th ends, courtesy of some outstandingly accurate bowling, which Des could not quite match. Our champion for 2017 – Phil Sanders from Salisbury winning 26-19 over Des Manuel from Victor Harbor. A superb display of bowling for a grand final.



Top: The final twelve into day 2 – bowlers from Clearview, Nuriootpa, Clarence Gardens, Renmark, Pt. McDonnell, Goolwa, Tranmere, Salisbury, Victor Harbor & Somerton.

Centre: The Semi-finals – Phil Sanders (Salisbury) v Colin Baker (Nuriootpa) and Des Manuel (Victor Harbor) v Alan Hill (Tranmere)

Bottom: Finalists – Phil Sanders (winner), Rodney Egge (State singles organiser), Des Manuel (runner-up)